Home / Mixellaneous / THE ITHUBA SESSIONS

The Ithuba Sessions – DJ Bubbles


Revered vinyl DJ and crate digger DJ Bubbles aka Billy Jackson of Urban Touch Recordings. Born in Mamelodi and coming of age during the golden age of hip hop, Bubbles chose to forego the raps and learn the art of the turntables instead; and for that we are grateful!


  1. The Funkees – Akula Owu Onyeara
  2. George Oban – Basshoven
  3. Sun Ra – There Is Change In The Air
  4. Nat Adderley Septet – K High
  5. Charles Miller – Black Nursery
  6. Marvin Gaye – Flyin’ High (In The Friendly Sky)
  7. Marvin Gaye – Save The Children
  8. Musicians From The Summer Program For Youthful Musicians – Brougham
  9. Lou Donaldson – Pot Belly
  10. LA Carnival – Blind Man
  11. Marcos Valle – Os Grilos
  12. Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – So Tired
  13. The Pharcyde – Otha Fish (Instrumental)
  14. Rachel Sweet – It’s So Different Here
  15. Howard Roberts – Dirty Old Bossa Nova
  16. Roy Ayers – Searching
  17. Ramp – Daylight
  18. The Dramatics – Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get
  19. Roy Ayers – Humming In The Sun
  20. Ronnie Foster – Mystic Brew

Info & Credits

Broadcast live on 30 August 2014 on 102.2 FM from Ithuba Arts Gallery in Braamfontein, Johannesburg.

On the Wax – DJ Bubbles

Cover Design – Rasik Green

Video filmed by Naledi Chai and Vusi Hlatywayo

Video edited by Naledi Chai and co-edited by Nhlanhla Mngadi

Big thank you to ICR Radio for letting us use their radio antenna for this project.

About the Ithuba Sessions:
Over two weekends in the month of August 2014, we hosted a pop-up radio show at the Ithuba Arts Gallery as part of the Backspace Residency. On the corner of Juta and Biccard, we were immersed in a hub of sound, collaboration and imagination. Using ICRs Radio antenna, we broadcast (via ICRs 102.2 FM) our own sonic collage to a 1km radius, within Braamfontein, featuring an array of vinyl only DJ sets and live music performances.